Call for Papers

As President-Elect, I am excited to invite you to submit a paper (or papers) to present at the Annual Meeting of the Mid-South Sociological Association to be held October 24-26, 2019 in Jackson, Mississippi. This year’s theme is:

Focusing Attention on Intersecting Systems of Oppression in the #MeToo Era

We invite research papers from any and all disciplines, including those with an interdisciplinary focus. Please consider submitting your papers early, to help ensure a spot in the session of your choice. The early deadline is July 5, 2019[1]. Submit your paper title, abstract, and specific session title to the session organizer(s) as listed below. If you are unsure where your paper might best fit or if it does not fit in any of the listed sessions, please email it to me, Jessica

Abbott, MSSA President-Elect, at jessica.abbott@dixie.edu or Jessica.abbott.03@gmail.com.

We have some very exciting paper session topics! Also, consider participation in one of our panels, roundtables, poster sessions, or workshops[2] as listed below the paper sessions. If you are interested in submitting a paper or poster, being part of a panel, or attending/participating in a roundtable or workshop, please email the organizer directly.


[1] There will be an extended deadline in early Fall.

[2] Types of sessions: Paper sessions are where 3-5 individuals take turns presenting their research with Q & A afterwards. Roundtables are literally held at a round table; this is a space where people interested in a particular topic can discuss ideas, ongoing research, or ask questions (less formal). Workshops are directed sessions with a goal of participatory learning. Poster sessions are spaces where presenters can display a poster version of their research, and describe it briefly to viewers. Panels are led by a group of experts who lead discussion with attendees about a particular topic.

SESSION NAME SESSION ORGANIZER CONTACT
Alcohol and Substance Use Andrew Tatch Ajt277@msstate.edu
Autoethnographies of Race, Class, and Gender Robert Michael Spivey Michael.spivey@uncp.edu
Children and Youth Courtney Heath Windhorn Clh714@msstate.edu
Comparative Sociology Roger Klomegah rklomega@tnstate.edu
Contested Narratives and Mental Health Stephanie Hansard smhansar@bsc.edu
Criminology and Deviance Jason Ulsperger julsperger@atu.edu
Disabilities Kirsten Ostergren Clark kirsteno@uab.edu
Disasters Lisa Eargle leargle@fmarion.edu
Disasters and Race, Gender, Class & Age Intersections Francis O Adeola fadeola@uno.edu
Discrimination, Stress, and Mental Health Stephanie Hansard smhansar@bsc.edu
Domestic Violence Kathy Smith ksmith@vallnet.com
Environmental Justice Within and Across Borders Francis O Adeola fadeola@uno.edu
Family Jessica Burke jburke@fmarion.edu
Gender and Health Elizabeth Baker ebaker@uab.edu
Gender Research in Progress Tina Hebert Deshotels tdeshotels@jsu.edu
Graduate Student Session I Erin Rider erider@jsu.edu
Graduate Student Session II Erin Rider erider@jsu.edu
Hate Crimes Lisa Eargle leargle@fmarion.edu
Health Disparities and Social Stratification Andrew Tatch Ajt277@msstate.edu
Health, Morbidity and Mortality Kevin Breault kbreault@bellsouth.net
Homicide Studies John Boulahanis jboulahanis@selu.edu
Identities Jessica Burke jburke@fmarion.edu
Immigration Erin Rider erider@jsu.edu
Intersectionality Melencia Johnson melenciaj@usca.edu
Latinx Identities William Rodriguez rodrigw@usca.edu
Media and Inequality Andrea Hunt ahunt3@una.edu
Medical Sociology Kirsten Ostergren Clark kirsteno@uab.edu
Mothering and Motherhood Brianna Turgeon bturgeon@jsu.edu
Political Economy Steve Panageotou & Aaron Rowland spanageotou@astate.edu; arowlan3@utm.edu
Public Opinion Theresa Davidson tcdavids@samford.edu
Public Sociology Robert Michael Spivey Michael.spivey@uncp.edu
Race and Ethnicity Erin Rider erider@jsu.edu
Reproductive Justice Melanie Turner Mturner19@gsu.edu
Service Learning Erin Rider erider@jsu.edu
Sex Trafficking Chloe Parker Cp1218@msstate.edu
Sexuality and Social Policy Melanie Turner mturner19@gsu.edu
Sex Work Chloe Parker Cp1218@msstate.edu
Social Movements Ruth Chananie rchill@uni.edu
Social Psychology Jessica Burke jburke@fmarion.edu
Sociology at HBCUs Tom Kersen j00585263@jsums.edu
Sociology Clubs and Teaching from a Feminist Perspective Tina Hebert Deshotels tdeshotels@jsu.edu
Sociology of Development & Underdevelopment. Francis O Adeola fadeola@uno.edu
Sociology of Education Brett Lehman blehman@aum.edu
Sociology of Food Justin Martin Jmart140@utm.edu
Sociology of Gender Sarah Donley sdonley@jsu.edu
Sociology of Religion Shondrah Nash s.nash@moreheadstate.edu
Substance Use and Misuse Lauren Norman Lauren.Norman@uncp.edu
Teaching Sociology—General Jessica Abbott Jessica.abbott@dixie.edu
Trans and Nonbinary Health Across the Life Course Alexandra Nowakowski xnowakowski@fsu.edu
Terrorism Lisa Eargle leargle@fmarion.edu
Undergraduate Student Session I Patricia Gleich pgleich1@uwf.edu
Undergraduate Student Session II Patricia Gleich pgleich1@uwf.edu
Victimology and Fear of Crime Jessica Abbott & Shelly McGrath Jessica.abbott@dixie.edu; smcgrath@uab.edu
Women and Rage in Popular Culture Jackie Eller Jackie.eller@mtsu.edu
Poster Session/Contest Jessica Abbott Jessica.abbott@dixie.edu
PANEL NAME MODERATOR CONTACT
Maintaining a Research Agenda while at a Small Teaching University Aaron Rowland arowlan3@utm.edu
Microaggressions Melencia Johnson & Race and Minorities Caucus melenciaj@usca.edu
Intersectionality and Inclusivity Plenary Speaker (TBA) Jessica.abbott@dixie.edu
ROUNDTABLE NAME MODERATOR CONTACT
Roundtable: The Business of Sociology—“Money” Conversations Academics Seldom Have Earl Wright II wrighte4@UCMAIL.UC.EDU
Roundtable: The Unwritten Rules to Successfully Achieving Tenure and Promotion Earl Wright II wrighte4@UCMAIL.UC.EDU
WORKSHOP NAME FACILITATOR CONTACT
Teaching the Stress Process with Hands-On Activities Alexandra Nowakowski xnowakowski@fsu.edu