MSSA Conference Program

Transforming the Sociological Landscape:

The Quest for Reconstruction

and a Paradigmatic Shift

October 12-15, 2016

North Charleston, SC

Program Chairperson:
Dr. Shirley Rainey Brown, Fisk University

MSSA Conference Program (Coming Soon)

CALL FOR PAPERS

If you are interested in presenting a paper at the 2016 meeting of the Mid-South Sociological Association then you should identify a session below and forward your abstract of no more than 250 words to the session organizer.

For a Microsoft Word copy of the Call for Papers click the HERE.

2016 MSSA SESSIONS AND ORGANIZERS

PAPERS SESSIONS

  1. Intimate Partner Violence

Organizer:  C. Patrice Lockett & Timothy Williams

Email: clockett@jsu.edu      Tim09williams@yahoo.com

 

  1. Social Movements

Organizers:     David Zeller

Email:     davidzeller@mail.usf.edu

 

  1. Disasters, Preparedness and Community Recovery

Organizer: Jessica Pardee

Email: jwpgss@rit.edu

 

  1. Sociology of Disability

Organizer:  Shirley Brown

Email:  sbrown@fisk.edu

 

  1. Social Psychology of Everyday Life

Organizer:  C. Patrice Lockett

Email:  clockett@jsu.edu

 

  1. Inequality and Health

Organizer:  Ying Ma

Email:  may@apsu.edu

 

  1. Sociology of Health and Medicine

Organizer:   Ollie Christian

Email:  ogchristian@yahoo.com

 

  1. Race in the South

Organizer:  Robert Reece

Email:  Robert.l.reece@gamail.com

 

  1. GIS and Spatial Applications in Social Context

Organizers:  Shelly McGrath    &    John  Boulahanis

Emails: smcgraath@uab.edu            jboulahanis@selu.edu

 

  1. Alcohol/Drugs and Society

Organizer:  Lauren Norman

Email: lnorman@deltastate.edu

 

  1. Racial Identity Formation

Organizer:   Rachel Head

Email:  rhead@uttyler.edu)

 

  1. African American Male College Student Academic Success

Organizer:  Timothy Williams

Email:  Tim09williams@yahoo.com

 

  1. Media and Society

Organizer:   Katie Cooper

Email:  Cooper13@mail.usf.edu

 

  1. Intersectional Identities

Organizer:  Sarah  Donley

Email:  sdonley@jsu.edu

 

  1. Family Mental Health

Organizer:  Gregory Harris

Email:  gjharris@fsu.edu

 

  1. Family Violence

Organizer:  Gregory Harris)

Email:  gjharris@fsu.edu

 

  1. Transforming the Sociological Landscape:  Teaching Sociology Courses in a Blended/hybrid Modality

Organizer:  Shirley Brown (CLOSED)

Email:  sbrown@fisk.edu

 

  1. Environmental Issues

Organizer:  Frances Staten

Email:  fstaten@bellsouth.net

 

  1. Intersectionality at the Workplace

Organizer:   Deniz Yucel

Email:  yuceld@wpunj.edu

 

  1. Sociology of Family

Organizer:  Deniz Yucel

Email:  yuceld@wpunj.edu

 

  1. Race and Criminal Justice I

Organizer:  Lisa Eargle

Email:  leargle@fmarion.edu

 

  1. Race and the Criminal Justice System II

Organizer; Anita Bledsoe-Gardner

Email abgardner@jcsu.edu

 

  1. Sexuality and Sexual Minorities

Organizers:  Theresa Davidson

Email: tcdavuds@sanford.edu

 

  1. Migration/Immigration in the South

Organizers:  Hideki Morooka   &    Erin Rider

Email:           hmorooka@uncfsu.edu       erider@jsu.edu

  1. Juvenile Delinquency

Organizer:  Jason Ulsperger

Email:  julsperger@atu.edu

 

  1. Class, Race and the American Dream.

Organizer:  Terrell Hayes

Email:  thayes@highpoint.edu

 

  1. Corporatization and Commodification of Higher Education

Organizer:  Terrell Hayes

Email:  thayes@highpoint.edu

 

  1. Homicide Studies

Organizer:  John Boulahanis

Email:  jboulahanis@selu.edu

 

  1. Sociology of Religion

Organizer:  Shondrah Tarrezz Nash

Email:  s.nash@morehead-st.edu

 

 

  1. Sociology of Leisure

Organizer:  Timothy Gongaware

Email:  tgongaware@uwlax.edu

 

  1. Interracial Marriage from a Cross-Cultural Perspective

Organizer:  Jessica Burke

Email:  jburke@fmarion.edu

 

  1. Sociology of Mindfulness

Organizer:  Pam Hunt Kirk

Email:  phunt@westga.edu

 

  1. Original Research in Progress

Organizer:  Renu Sagreiya

Email:  rsagreiya@gamil.com

 

  1. Undergraduate Sociology Student Research (non-competitive)

Organizer: Theresa Davidson

Email:  tcdavids@samford.edu

 

  1. Graduate Sociology Student Research (non-competitive)

Organizer:  Jeremy Ross

Email:  jaross@jsu.edu

 

  1. Undergraduate Sociology Paper (Competition)

Organizer: Theresa Davidson

Email:  tcdavids@samford.edu

 

  1. Graduate Sociology Paper (Competition)

Organizer:  Jeremy Ross

Email:  jaross@jsu.edu

 

  1. Nursing Students Perceptions of Psychiatric Clients and Treatment Settings: Findings From A Racially Diverse Sample

Organizers: Barbara Covington, Dianne Campbell, Sharon Johnson, Pinky Noble-Britton

Email: prof.barbara@comcast.net)     (CLOSED)

 

  1. After Same Sex Marriage

Organizer:  Patricia Gleich and the Women and Sexuality Group

Email:  pgleichl@uwf.edu

 

  1. Studies in Public Sociology and Collaborative-Participatory Research

Organizer:  Michael Spivey

Email:  Michael.spivey@uncp.edu

 

  1. Social Psychology

Organizer:  Michael Spivey

Email:  Michael.spivey@uncp.edu

 

  1. Criminology/Victimology

Organizer: Shelly McGrath & Jessica Abbott

Email: smcgrath@uab.edu

 

  1. Health/Illness of Children

Organizer:  Hugh Floyd

hhfloyd@samford.edu

 

  1. Environmental Justice/Social Justice

Organizer:  Hugh Floyd

Email: hhfloyd@samford.edu

 

  1. Public Sociology: Advocacy in an Age of Polarization

Organizers Patricia Gleich and Sarah Donely

Email:  pgleich1@uwf.edu

 

  1. Sociology and Relationships

Organizer: Timothy Williams

Email: tim09williams@yahoo.com

 

  1. Human and Civil Rights

Organizer: Timothy Williams

Email: tim09williams@yahoo.com

 

  1. Deviant Behavior

Organizer: Ray Von Robertson

Email:  Ray.Robertson@famu.edu

 

  1. Crime and Incarceration

Organizer: Ray Von Robertson

Email: Ray.Robertson@famu.edu

 

  1. Violence in the Church

Organizer:  DeMond Miller

Email:  millerd@rowan.edu

 

  1. Sociology of Women’s Sport

Organizer:  Kate McGonigal

Email: kmcgonige@fhsu.edu

 

  1. Gender Research in Progress

Organizer:  Tina Deshotels

Email:  tdeshotels@jsu.edu

 

PANELS

  1. Graduate Students at  Crossroads

Organizer:  Boniface  Noyongoyo  & Timothy Williams

Email:  bonoya@knights.ucf.edu       Tim09williams@yahoo.com

 

  1. Food, Identity and Culture

Organizer:  Boniface Noyongoyo

Email : bonoya@knights.ucf.edu

 

  1. Black Female Sociologists:  A Historical Perspective

Organizers:    Shirley Brown &   Erma Lawson

Emails:  sbrown@fisk.edu           erma.lawson@unt.edu

 

  1. Migration and Society

Organizer:   DeMond S. Miller

Email millerd@rowan.edu

 

  1. Ongoing issues in Disaster Recovery

Organizer:  DeMond S. Miller

Email: millerd@rowan.edu

 

  1. The Birth of MSSA:  Principles and Ideals of Sharing and Inclusion

Organizers:    Thomas Calhoun, Ollie Christian, Dennis McSeveney. Dennis Peck & Thomas Durant

Email: thomas.c.calhoun@jsums.edu (CLOSED)

 

  1. MSSA’s President’s Panel: ” Transforming the Sociological Landscape: How MSSA Can Benefit From Reconstructing and Making a Paradigmatic Shift?”

Organizer:  Thomas Calhoun

Email:  thomas.c.calhoun@jsums.edu  (closed)

 

  1. How Spousal Occupation  Influence Minister Wives’ Social Interaction

Organizer: Shondrah Tarrezz Nash

Email:  s.nash@morehead.st.edu     (CLOSED)

 

  1. Incidence and Prevalence of Cancer

Organizer:  Josie Scales

Email:  jscales@fisk.edu

 

  1. What to do with an Undergraduate Degree in Sociology?

Organizer:  Timothy Williams

Email: Tim09williams@yahoo.com

 

  1. Respecting Differences and Diversity in the Profession: Our Social Responsibility

Organizer:  Gregory Harris

Email:  giharis@jsu.edu

 

  1. Teaching Sociology

Organizer:   Xan  Nowakowski

Email:  xnowakowski@fsu.edu  (CLOSED)

 

  1. Community-based Participatory Research

Organizer:  Xan Nowakowski

Email:  xnowakowski@fsu.edu

 

  1.  Applying to Graduate School

Organizer: Jon Shefner

Email:  jshefner@utk.edu (CLOSED)

 

 WORKSHOPS

  1. Navigating Ph.D Careers

Organizers:  Dana Green and     Dr. Jean Shin

Email:  greenedm@gmail.com   shine@asanet.org

 

 

  1. Transforming the Sociological Landscape: Teaching Sociology in a Blended/hybrid Modality

Organizer:  Shirley Brown

Email  sbrown@fisk.edu  (CLOSED)

 

ROUNDTABLE

 

  1. If I Knew Then What I Know Now Successful Transitioning From Undergrad to Graduate School

Organizer:   Nicola Davis Bivens

Email:  drndbivens@gmail.com

  1. Preparing for Tenure and Promotion at Small Colleges

Organizer:  Nicola Davis Bivens

Email:  drndbivens@gmail.com

 

  1. Global Climate Change

Organizer:  Frances Staten

Email:  fstatem@bellsouth.net

 

  1. Changing Behavior Dynamics in the Classroom: Shifting Equilibrium

Organizers:  Shirley Brown,  Jennifer Adebanjo,   Dennis Peak, Shelly McGrath, and  Ollie Christian

Emails    sbrown@fisk.edu  (CLOSED)

 

  1. Science, Technology and Culture

Organizers:  Dennis Peck     &       Kinko Ito

Emails:  drdpeck@yahoo.com    kxito@ualr.edu

 

 

 

 

POSTERS (Showcasing Scientific Research)

 

  1. Poster I:

Organizers:  Shir-earn Rainey   &          Jackie Eller

Emails:  srainey@bulldogs.aamu.edu       jackie.eller@mtsu.edu

 

  1. Poster II:

Organizer DeMond S. Miller

Email: millerd@rowan.edu