Call for Papers

2020 Call for Papers

The call for papers is now closed.

Thank you for your continuing dedication to MSSA Inc.!!!

Theme Title Organizer Affiliation Contact Type
Current Events
From KKK to BLM Earl Wright University of Cincinnati Earl.wright@uc.edu Paper
The 150th Anniversary of the 15th Amendment Keith D. Parker, PhD Founder + CEO | National Education and Empowerment Coalition, Inc. kdparker@neec-inc.org Paper
Pandemic of Racism Erin Rider Jacksonville State University erider@jsu.edu Paper
Pandemic of Racism Tina Deshotels` Jacksonville State University tdeshotels@jsu.edu Panel
State Violence Tina Deshotels Jacksonville State University tdeshotels@jsu.edu Paper
State Violence Tina Deshotels Jacksonville State University tdeshotels@jsu.edu Panel
COVID-19’s sociological impact, Jason Ulsperger Arkansas Technical University julsperger@atu.edu Panel
COVID-19 and the “New Normal” Tina Deshotels Jacksonville State University tdeshotels@jsu.edu Paper
COVID Research in Progress Jessica Pardee

 

Rochester Institute of Technology jwpgss@rit.edu
Interracial Solidarity with Black Activism for Racial Justice Reshmi Chowdhury reshmi.note@gmail.com Panel
Sociology of Teaching and Learning During Melanie Escue University of South Florida mescue@usf.edu Paper
Post Fact Society
Big Little Lies:  Higher Education’s Commitment to Diversity Roma Hanks University of South Alabama rhanks@southalabama.edu Paper
Big Little Lies: What Happened to Higher Education’s Commitment to Diversity Roma Hanks University of South Alabama rhanks@southalabama.edu Panel
Bullshit, Misinformation, Disinformation, and the Lies We Believe Joshua Wakeham

 

University of Alabama jcwakeham@ua.edu Paper
Media, Culture, and (The Post Fact?) Society Katie Cooper University of Tampa scooper@ut.edu Paper
Myths/Misconceptions about Trans, Nonbinary and Intersex Populations Alexandra “Xan” Nowakowski Florida State University xnowakowski@fsu.edu Panel
Misinformation on Abortion, Sex Education, and Sex Work Policy Melanie Turner Georgia State University mturner19@gsu.edu Paper
Fake News is Not NEW: How minority groups’ management of oppressive norms throughout history reveal strategies for navigating today’s conflicts over “truth”. J. Erica Sumerau Ruth Chananie University of Tampa Jsumerau@ut.edu

rchananie@ut.edu

 

The Radical Right’s cooptation of Critical Theory Panel Jeremy Ross Jacksonville State University jaross@jsu.edu Panel
Whither Marx?: Sociological Complicity in the War on Truth Joel Crombez Kennesaw State jcrombez@kennesaw.edu Panel
Special Sessions
Dr. Tom Calhoun Memorial Willie Pearson Jr.

Roger Guy

Georgia Institute of Technology

SUNY Oswego

Willie.pearson@hsc.gatech.eduRoger.guy@oswego.edu
Marc Matre’s History of the MSSA/MSSA Archives Kevin Breault Middle Tennessee State University Kevin.Breault@mtsu.edu Panel
Poster Session Nicola Davis Bivens

Demond Miller

Johnson C. Smith University

Rowan University

ndbivens@jcsu.edumillerd@rowan.edu Poster
Poster Session Social Special Topic: Movements and 21st Century Challenges to Social Change Joel Crombez Kennesaw State University jcrombez@kennesaw.edu Poster
Undergraduate Paper Competition Lauren Norman University of North Carolina at Pembroke lnorman@uncp.eduLauren.Norman@uncp.edu Paper
Graduate Paper Competition Patricia Gleich University of West Florida pgleich1@uwf.edu Paper
New and Emerging Research Demond Miller Rowan University millerd@rowan.edu Paper
Aging and the Life Course
Gerontology Ron Aday Middle Tennessee State University ronald.aday@mtsu.edu Paper
Animals and Society
Animals and Society I James H Gadberry Athens State University James.gadberry@athens.edu Paper
Animals and Society II Garrett Bunyak Georgia Institute of Technology gbunyak@gatech.edu Paper
Animals and Society Garrett Bunyak Georgia Institute of Technology gbunyak@gatech.edu Panel
Collective Behavior and
Social Movements
Collective Identity in Social
Movements and Other Organizations
Tim Gongaware University of Wisconsin La Crosse tgongaware@uwlax.edu Paper
Exploring Netdoms and Relational Ties within Social Groups Tim Gongaware University of Wisconsin La Crosse tgongaware@uwlax.edu Paper
Social Movements, Social Problems, and Politics  Ruth Chananie University of Tampa rchananie@ut.edu Paper
Comparative/Historical Sociology
Comparative / Historical Studies Todd C. Couch Francis Marion University todd.couch@fmarion.edu Paper
Crime/Law and Deviance
Criminology and Deviance Raymond Baranco Mississippi State University Rb1286@msstate.edu Paper
Cyber-Intelligence/Security Anita BledsoeGardner Johnson C. Smith University abgardner@jcsu.edu Paper
Gender Crime and Justice Meredith Dye Middle Tennessee State University Meredith.dye@mtsu.edu Paper
Homicide Studies John Boulahanis South Eastern Louisiana University john.boulahanis@selu.edu Paper
Human Trafficking Lisa Eargle

Jessica Doucet

Francis Marion University  leargle@fmarion.edu jdoucet@fmarion.edu Paper
Police & Citizen Brutality Lisa Eargle

Jessica Doucet

Francis Marion University leargle@fmarion.edu jdoucet@fmarion.edu Paper
Rape Myths Makeela Wells Tennessee Technical University MJWells@tntech.edu Paper
Substance Abuse and Misuse Lauren Norman University of North Carolina Pembroke lnorman@uncp.edu Paper
Victimology and Fear of Crime Jessica Abbott Dixie State University jessica.abbott@dixie.edu Paper
Contemporary Penology: Thinking About Transformation of Systems and Persons Andrew Austin University of Wisconsin Green Bay austina@uwgb.edu Paper
Disability in Society
Sociology of Disabilities Kirsten Ostergren Clark University of Alabama at Birmingham kirsteno@uab.edu Paper
Environmental and Disasters Studies
Disasters and Vulnerable Populations DeMond Miller Rowan University millerd@rowan.edu Paper
Sociology of Disasters Francis O. Adeola University of New Orleans fadeola@uno.edu Paper
Environmental Justice Hugh Floyd Samford University hhfloyd@samford.edu
Family
Family Brianna Turgeon Jacksonville State University bturgeon@jsu.edu Paper
Family and Health Hugh Floyd Samford University hhfloyd@samford.edu Paper
Immigration
Immigration Erin Rider Jacksonville State University erider@jsu.edu Paper
Immigrant identity and communities Basudhara Sen

David Knotterus

Navarro College

Oklahoma State University

basudharas@gmail.com  david.knottnerus@okstate.edu Paper
International Migration: Through an Intersectional Lens. Melanie Escue

 

University of South Florida mescue@usf.edu Paper
Shaping Perceptions of the Immigrant Community Sandrine Zerbib Saint Cloud State University sazerbib@stcloudstate.edu Paper
Inequality, Poverty and Mobility
Housing and Inequality Ashleigh McKinzie Middle Tennessee State University Ashleigh.McKinzie@mtsu.edu Paper
Medical Sociology
Death and Dying Kim Wingard University of Florida kfwingard@ufl.edu Paper
Medical Sociology Kirsten Ostergren Clark University of Alabama kirsteno@uab.edu Paper
Methodology
From Big Data To Small DataModeling Social Interactions More Effectively Giselle Greenidge, Northwest Missouri State University GGREENIDGE@nwmissouri.edu Paper
Qualitative Methods Jason Ulsperger Arkansas Technical University julsperger@atu.edu Paper
Student Presentations of Undergraduate Research Lachelle Norris, Lachelle Tennessee Technical University LNorris@tntech.edu Paper
The Good, The Bad and The Ugly:  Research on Unpopular Topics D’Antonio, Virginia Katherine University of North Alabama vdantonio@una.edu Paper
Peace, War and Social Conflict
Unification in the age of Intersectionality and Globalization Me’Kayla Hopkins Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University mekayla1.hopkins@famu.edu Paper
Restorative Justice and Conflict Resolution James H Gadberry Athens State University James.gadberry@athens.edu Paper
Political Sociology American Oligarchy: Levers of Power and Authority. Frank W. Elwell Rogers State University felwell@rsu.edu Paper
The Politics of Branding and the Branding of Politics Joel Crombez Kennesaw State University jcrombez@kennesaw.edu Paper
Race and Ethnicity
Race/Ethnicity I Erin Rider Jacksonville State University erider@jsu.edu Paper
Sociology of Religion
Religion and Society Todd C. Couch Francis Marion University todd.couch@fmarion.edu Paper
Sociology of Religion Shondrah Tarrezz Nash Morehead State University s.nash@moreheadstate.edu Paper
Deviance and Religious Cults Hua-Lun Huang University of Louisiana at Lafayette hua-lun.huang@louisiana.edu Paper
Sociology of Culture
Social Media, Entertainment Media, and Popular Culture Ruth Chananie University of Tampa rchananie@ut.edu Paper
Sociology of Leisure Tim Gongaware University of Wisconsin La Crosse tgongaware@uwlax.edu Paper
Sociology of Sport Shelly McGrath University of Alabama at Birmingham smcgrath@uab.edu Paper
Science, Knowledge and Technology
AI (Artificial Intelligence) and Inequities Willie Pearson Georgia Technical Institute willie.pearson@hsoc.gatech.edu Paper
Digital Sociology Marcus Brooks University of Cincinnati brooksmu@mail.uc.edu Paper
Considering Bitcoin as a Social Movement: Involvement, Knowledge, and Investment as Motivations. Jesse Lane Oklahoma State University jesse.lane@okstate.edu
Sociology of Science and Technology David Zeller University of South Florida davidzeller@usf.edu Paper
Technology and Human Rights Francis O. Adelola University of New Orleans fadeola@uno.edu Paper
Visual Sociology Hayes, Terrell Highpoint University thayes@highpoint.edu Paper
Sociology Practice and Public Sociology
Engaging The Community Christi Mackey Rogers State University cmackey@rsu.edu Paper
Public Opinion Theresa Davidson Samford University tcdavids@samford.edu Paper
Social Policy Mitch McIvor University of West Georgia mmcivor@westga.edu Paper
Leadership and Attribution Errors Shane Gunderson Broward College sgunders@broward.edu Paper
Sociology of Education
Sociology of Education Brett Lehman Auburn Montgomery blehman@aum.edu Paper
Sociology of Emotions
Sociology of Emotions Lauren Norman University of North Carolina at Pembroke Lauren.Norman@uncp.edu Paper
Sociology of Sex and Gender
Gender Policing in Sport Jackie Eller Middle Tennessee State University Jackie.eller@mtsu.edu Paper
Gender Research in Progress Sara Donley Jacksonville State University sdonley@jsu.edu Paper
Sociology of Gender Sarah Donley Jacksonville State University sdonley@jsu.edu Paper
Gendered Violence (Panel) Ashleigh McKinzie Middle Tennessee State University Ashleigh.McKinzie@mtsu.edu Paper
Sociology of Sexualities
LGBTQ+ Studies Melencia Johnson University of South Carolina at Aiken melenciaj@usca.edu Paper
Southern LGBT Experience J. Erica Sumerau University of Tampa Jsumerau@ut.edu Paper
Transgender and Intersex Identity Ruth Chananie University of Tampa rchananie@ut.edu Paper
Challenging the Gender Binary in Teaching/University Setting Mila Turner Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University milanika.turner@famu.edu Panel
 Teaching LGBTQ Health J. Erica Sumerau University of Taampa Jsumerau@ut.edu Paper
Teaching and Learning in Sociology
Academic Freedom: Doing Public Sociology While Centering the Margins Roman Johnson University of Alabama at Birmingham rjohn123@uab.edu Panel
Adult Learners Vivienne H. Wood vwood@westga.edu Paper
Integrated Service Learning in the Classroom Christi Mackey Rogers State University cmackey@rsu.edu Paper
Intersectionality in Higher Education Context McKayla Joaquin Mississippi State University mj954@msstate.edu Paper
Teaching Sociology Erin Rider Jacksonville State University erider@jsu.edu Panel
Teaching Human Sexuality Kelly James kjames2@cbu.edu Paper
Teaching Visual Sociology Terrell A. Hayes Highpoint University thayes@highpoint.edu Paper
Digital Literacy Across Discipline: The Value of Interdisciplinary Approaches to Evaluating Evidence in the Classroom Panel Nicole B. Oehmen University of Iowa nicole-oehmen@uiowa.edu Paper
Theory
Critical Theory Harry Dahms University of Tennessee at Knoxville hdahms@utk.edu Paper
Contemporary Theory Jeremy Ross Jacksonville State University jaross@jsu.edu Paper
Social psychology and contemporary life Justin A. Martin University of Tennessee at Martin jmart140@utm.edu Paper
Professional Development
Graduate Student Teaching:  Rewards and Challenges Douglas Valentine

 

University of Missouri Columbia drvb8d@mail.missouri.edu Panel
Administration in Higher Ed Nicole Carr ntcarr@southalabama.edu Panel
How can I maintain a research agenda while at a teaching-oriented university or college Aaron Rowland

Jessica Abbott

University of Tennessee at Martin

Dixie State University

arowlan3@utm.edu

Jessica.Abbott@dixie.edu

Panel
Getting undergraduates involved in research outside of coursework: successes and failures.” Aaron Rowland

Jessica Abbott

arowlan3@utm.edu

Jessica.Abbott@dixie.edu

Panel
Navigating the Academic Job Market Jessica Abbott Dixie State University Jessica.Abbott@dixie.edu Panel
The Unwritten Rules to Successfully Achieving Tenure and Promotion. Earl Wright University of Cincinnati wrighte4@UCMAIL.UC.EDU Panel
“Getting your Dean’s Attention: How Can AKD Help Convince Your Dean of Sociology’s Value” Jeffery Chin Alpha Kappa Delta chin@lemoyne.edu Works hop
Preparing for a Program Review/Getting your Curriculum to meet National Standards” Jeffery Chin chin@lemoyne.edu
 “Increasing Student Engagement: Using Active Learning & Team-Based Learning Techniques” Jeffery Chin chin@lemoyne.edu
“I Love Sociology but What Can I Do with a Sociology Major? Helping
Students see Sociology as Preparation for Careers”
Jeffery Chin chin@lemoyne.edu
Navigating Graduate School:  From Application to Degree Conferral Tyler Gay tgay11@student.gsu.edu Panel
Low cost Technology for Classroom Anita Bledsloe Gardner Johnson C. Smith University abgardner@jcsu.edu Panel
Service Learning Anita Bledsloe Gardner Johnson C. Smith University abgardner@jcsu.edu Panel
Community College Nicola Bivens ndbivens@jcsu.edu Panel
Publishing Workshop:  Meet the Editors Teaching Sociology, Spectrum, Sociological Inquiry Michele Lee Kozimor
Barbra Prince (TS)
Kevin Breault
J. Scott Carter
(Sociological Inquiry)
Jeffery Chin
(AKD)
Teaching Sociology, Sociological Spectrum, Sociological Inquiry prince@lvc.edu

kozimor-kim@etown.edu

carter@ucf.educhin@lemoyne.edu

Panel
Sociology Clubs Panel JSU Sociology Clubs Jacksonville State University tdeshotels@jsu.edu Panel

_____
Contact MSSA:
Tina Deshotels, President-Elect
tdeshotels@jsu.edu