Please Login

You must login to comment, edit, or add to the MSA website.

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

MSSA 39th Annual Conference Call for Papers

39th Annual MSSA Conference

Call for Papers and Participation

Deadline for Submissions: Friday, June 7, 2013

Action Sociology: Opportunities in a (Post) Modern World

October 23-26, 2013

Atlanta, GA   –   Holiday Inn: Atlanta Capitol Conference Center

Program Chair:  Dr. Timothy B. Gongaware   University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
(midsouthsoc@gmail.com)

The Mid South Sociological Association welcomes submissions of papers for presentation and participation in panels and workshops for the 39th Annual MSSA Conference.  The conference is shaping up to include a number of very exciting sessions which are listed below, and the session organizers are looking forward to receiving submissions for presentations.  More information about the conference can be found at the website (www.midsouthsoc.org) including conference activities, a short discussion of the conference theme and session descriptions that were provided by organizers.
All individuals interested in presenting in a session should email the session organizer directly and submit their name, contact information, presentation title and an abstract of their presentation.  If you are unable to locate an appropriate session below, or if you would like to organize a session that is not currently listed, please contact Program Chair, Tim Gongaware, at midsouthsoc@gmail.com

SESSIONS AND ORGANIZERS 

  • Action Sociology: Effecting Social Change

Timothy Gongaware, University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, tgongaware@uwlax.edu

  • Aging in the 21st Century

Shanta Sharma, Henderson State University, sharma@hsu.edu

  • Anarchist Sociology: Theory and Practice

Richard Simon, Jacksonville State University, rsimon@jsu.edu

  • Animals and Society

James Gadberry, Athens State University, james.gadberry@athens.edu

  • Community Sociology: Spatial Analysis of Social Data,

Jeremy Porter, City University of New York, jeremy_r_porter@yahoo.com

  • Contemporary Immigration Patterns

Erin Rider, Jacksonville State University, erider@jsu.edu

  • Contemporary Theory

Jeremy Ross, Jacksonville State University, jeremyros@gmail.com

  • Creating Sociology Internships that Foster Critical Thinking and Awareness

Toni Sims-Muhammad, Livingstone College, tsims-muhammad@livingstone.edu

  • Crime

Rhonda Evans, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, rde8498@louisiana.edu

  • Crime Mapping

Shelly A. McGrath, University of Alabama Birmingham, smcgrath@uab.edu

  • Deviance

Rhonda Evans, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, rde8498@louisiana.edu

  • Doing Ethnography

Michael Spivey, University of North Carolina at Pembroke, Georgia Institute of Technology, michael.spivey@uncp.edu

  • Education, Science, and Social Justice

Willie Pearson, Georgia Institute of Technology, kingvassie@comcast.net

  • Environmental Sociology

Paul Namaste, High Point University, pnamaste@highpoint.edu

  • From Both Sides of the Fence (Part 1) – Student experiences with undergraduate field research methods courses

Lachelle Norris, Tennessee Tech University, LNorris@tntech.edu

  • From Both Sides of the Fence (Part 2) – Approaches to teaching qualitative field research methods: a panel discussion

Lachelle Norris, Tennessee Tech University, LNorris@tntech.edu

  • Gender

Rhonda Evans, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, rde8498@louisiana.edu

  • Gender and Social Deviance

Jackie Eller, Middle Tennessee State University , Jackie.Eller@mtsu.edu

  • Gender Research In Progress

Tina Deshotels, Jacksonville State University, tdeshotels@jsu.edu

  • Gender, Race and Crime

Anita Bledsoe-Gardner, Johnson C. Smith University, abgardner@jcsu.edu

  • Global Processes/Local Impacts

David Jaffee, University of North Florida, djaffee@unf.edu

  • Global Sociology

Samuel Adu-Mireku, Fayetteville State University, sadu-mireku@uncfsu.edu

  • Guns and Violence: Where are we at and where are we going?

Jackie Eller, Middle Tennessee State University, Jackie.Eller@mtsu.edu

  • Health and Aging

Ollie Christian, Southern University, ogchristian@yahoo.com

  • Healthcare Services and Health Disparities

Dawood Sultan, University of Southern Florida, dsultan@health.usf.edu

Claire Norris, Xavier University of Louisiana, cnorris@xula.edu

  • Homicide Studies

John Boulahanis, Southeastern Louisiana University, john.boulahanis@selu.edu

  • Microsociology

Steven Seiler, Tennessee Tech University, sseiler@tntech.edu

  • Problems and Solutions in Higher Education

Mark Konty, mkonty@public-scholar.com

  • Mentoring Women Faculty Panel/Workshop

Katie Ross, Oklahoma State University, kwormanross@gmail.com

  • Religion and Deviance

Shondrah Tarrezz Nash, Morehead State University, s.nash@moreheadstate.edu

  • Social Movements in a (Post) Modern World

Ruth Channanie-Hill, University of Northern Iowa, rchill@uni.edu

  • Social Theory, David Knottnerus

Oklahoma State University, david.knottnerus@okstate.edu

  • Sociology of Education and Youth

Frédérique Van de Poel- Knottnerus, Oklahoma State University, frederique.knottnerus@okstate.edu

  • Sociology of Emotions

Paul Namaste, High Point University, pnamaste@highpoint.edu

  • Sociology of Family

Kim Brackett, Auburn University at Montgomery, kbrackett@aum.edu

  • Sociology of Housing

Jessica Pardee, Rochester Institute of Technology, jwpgss@rit.edu

  • Sociology of Leisure

Timothy Gongaware, University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, tgongaware@uwlax.edu

  • Sociology of Propaganda

Michael P. Perazzetti, University of West Georgia, mperazz1@my.westga.edu

  • Students of Color at PWIs (Predominantly White Institutions)

Ray Von Roberston, Lamar University, rvrobertson@my.lamar.edu

  • Teaching from a Feminist Pedagogy

Tina Deshotels, Jacksonville State University, tdeshotels@jsu.edu

  • Technology across the Life Course

Kristi Stringer, University of Alabama – Birmingham, kls5n@uab.edu

  • The Role and Relevancy of HBCUs to Black Progress and Empowerment in the 21st Century

Toni Sims-Muhammad, Livingstone College, tsims-muhammad@livingstone.edu

  • Visual Sociology

Terrell A. Hayes, High Point University, thayes@highpoint.edu

In addition to the many research presentation sessions and panel, there are a number of workshops being organized for this year’s conference.

  • Becoming an ASA Department Resource Group Consultant
  • Horror Stories: Tips on How to Successfully Procure Tenure and Promotion
  • The Importance of Mentoring and Networks in Graduate School and the Early Career
  • Publishing in Academic Journals
  • Mentoring the Thesis/Dissertation: Mentor Expectations for Students – Student Expectations for Mentors

If you think you can aid in the development of these workshops or would like to be involved in them, please let the Program Chair know and he can put you in touch with the organizers.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL Presenters, Presiders, Discussants, and Session/Workshop Organizers must be members of MSSA and must pre-register for the conference by September 20, 2013.  Individuals not pre-registered for the conference by this date will not have their name or presentation information included in the final program.

Comments are closed on this post.