2013 MSSA Annual Conference Paper Submission Deadline Extended

SPEAK YOUR MIND

Greetings Everyone,

The response to the 2013 Mid South Sociological Associations Annual Conference (October 23-26 in Atlanta, GA) Call for Papers has been wonderful with many intriguing and important presentations being submitted from both in and outside of our region. So, in order to be as accommodating as possible and to encourage even more participation we have decided to extend the deadline for paper submissions.

The new paper submission deadline is:
Wednesday, August 28th, 2013.

 

Some additional deadlines (note some minor adjustments) coming up:

  • MSSA Undergraduate Student Paper Competition: July 31, 2013
  • MSSA Graduate Paper of Distinction Award: July 31, 2013
  • Stanford Lyman ($1000) Memorial Scholarship: July 31, 2013
As always, I hope everyone is doing well!!!
Take care,
Tim

39th Annual MSSA Conference

Action Sociology:

Opportunities in a (Post) Modern World

October 23-26, 2013 - Atlanta, GA 

Call for Papers and Participation

Deadline: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 

Program Chair:  Dr. Timothy B. Gongaware   University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
(midsouthsoc@gmail.com)

The Mid-South Sociological Association invites both professionals and students to present their sociological scholarship at the 39th Annual MSSA Conference to be held October 23-26, 2013, in Atlanta, GA.  To be considered for inclusion in the program, authors should submit their name, affiliation, contact information, working paper title and abstract directly to one of the relevant session organizers listed below.  Deadline for submissions to the organizers is June 7, 2013.

Where necessary, session organizers have included descriptions of the sessions they are organizing. These can be found at Session Descriptions.

  • Action Sociology: Effecting Social Change

Timothy Gongaware, University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, tgongaware@uwlax.edu

  • Aging in the 21st Century

Shanta Sharma, Henderson State University, sharma@hsu.edu

  • Anarchist Sociology: Theory and Practice

Richard Simon, Jacksonville State University, rsimon@jsu.edu

  • Animals and Society

James Gadberry, Athens State University, james.gadberry@athens.edu

  • Community Sociology: Spatial Analysis of Social Data,

Jeremy Porter, City University of New York, jeremy_r_porter@yahoo.com

  • Contemporary Immigration Patterns

Erin Rider, Jacksonville State University, erider@jsu.edu

  • Contemporary Theory

Jeremy Ross, Jacksonville State University, jeremyros@gmail.com

  • Creating Sociology Internships that Foster Critical Thinking and Awareness

Toni Sims-Muhammad, Livingstone College, tsims-muhammad@livingstone.edu

  • Crime

Rhonda Evans, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, rde8498@louisiana.edu

  • Crime Mapping

Shelly A. McGrath, University of Alabama Birmingham, smcgrath@uab.edu

  • Deviance

Rhonda Evans, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, rde8498@louisiana.edu

  • Doing Ethnography

Michael Spivey, University of North Carolina at Pembroke, michael.spivey@uncp.edu

  • Education, Science, and Social Justice

Willie Pearson, Georgia Institute of Technology, kingvassie@comcast.net

  • Environmental Sociology

Paul Namaste, High Point University, pnamaste@highpoint.edu

  • From Both Sides of the Fence (Part 1) – Student experiences with undergraduate field research methods courses
  • From Both Sides of the Fence (Part 2) – Approaches to teaching qualitative field research methods: a panel discussion

Lachelle Norris, Tennessee Tech University, LNorris@tntech.edu

  • Gender

Rhonda Evans, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, rde8498@louisiana.edu

  • Gender and Social Deviance

Jackie Eller, Middle Tennessee State University , Jackie.Eller@mtsu.edu

  • Gender Research In Progress

Tina Deshotels, Jacksonville State University, tdeshotels@jsu.edu

  • Gender, Race and Crime

Anita Bledsoe-Gardner, Johnson C. Smith University, abgardner@jcsu.edu

  • Global Processes/Local Impacts

David Jaffee, University of North Florida, djaffee@unf.edu

  • Global Sociology

Samuel Adu-Mireku, Fayetteville State University, sadu-mireku@uncfsu.edu

  • Guns and Violence: Where are we at and where are we going?

Jackie Eller, Middle Tennessee State University, Jackie.Eller@mtsu.edu

  • Health and Aging

Ollie Christian, Southern University, ogchristian@yahoo.com

  • Healthcare Services and Health Disparities

Dawood Sultan, University of Southern Florida, dsultan@health.usf.edu

Claire Norris, Xavier University of Louisiana, cnorris@xula.edu

  • Homicide Studies

John Boulahanis, Southeastern Louisiana University, john.boulahanis@selu.edu

  • Microsociology

Steven Seiler, Tennessee Tech University, sseiler@tntech.edu

  • Post-Racial Society? Race and Racism in Society

Thomas Hochschild, Valdosta State University, trhochschild@valdosta.edu

  • Problems and Solutions in Higher Education

Mark Konty, mkonty@public-scholar.com

  • Mentoring Women Faculty Panel/Workshop

Katie Ross, Oklahoma State University, kwormanross@gmail.com

  • Religion and Deviance

Shondrah Tarrezz Nash, Morehead State University, s.nash@moreheadstate.edu

  • Representations of Disaster, Climate Change or the Environment.

Ashleigh McKinzie, University of Georgia, amckinzie19@gmail.com

  • Social Movements in a (Post) Modern World

Ruth Chananie-Hill, University of Northern Iowa, rchill@uni.edu

  • Social Theory, David Knottnerus

Oklahoma State University, david.knottnerus@okstate.edu

  • Sociology of Education and Youth

Frédérique Van de Poel- Knottnerus, Oklahoma State University, frederique.knottnerus@okstate.edu

  • Sociology of Emotions

Paul Namaste, High Point University, pnamaste@highpoint.edu

  • Sociology of Family

Kim Brackett, Auburn University at Montgomery, kbrackett@aum.edu

  • Sociology of Housing

Jessica Pardee, Rochester Institute of Technology, jwpgss@rit.edu

  • Sociology of Leisure

Timothy Gongaware, University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, tgongaware@uwlax.edu

  • Sociology of Propaganda

Michael P. Perazzetti, University of West Georgia, mperazz1@my.westga.edu

  • Students of Color at PWIs (Predominantly White Institutions)

Ray Von Roberston, Lamar University, rvrobertson@my.lamar.edu

  • Teaching from a Feminist Pedagogy

Tina Deshotels, Jacksonville State University, tdeshotels@jsu.edu

  • Technology across the Life Course

Kristi Stringer, University of Alabama – Birmingham, kls5n@uab.edu

  • The Role and Relevancy of HBCUs to Black Progress and Empowerment in the 21st Century

Toni Sims-Muhammad, Livingstone College, tsims-muhammad@livingstone.edu

  • Visual Sociology

Terrell A. Hayes, High Point University, thayes@highpoint.edu

If you do not see a session that is related to your scholarship in the list above, please contact the Program Chair at midsouthsoc@gmail.com. Additionally, if you have developed a session idea that is not in the list above, you can contact the Program Chair and we will work with you to include it in the program.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL Presenters, Presiders, Discussants, and Session Organizers must be current members of MSSA and must pre-register for the MSSA conference by September 20, 2013.  Individuals not pre-registered for the conference by this date will not have their name or presentation information included in the final program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>